how to ... research / ALADIN online services classes & tutorials
American University Library
 
  site search system status  
search
 
how to ... research / ALADIN online services classes and tutorials about the library

 Databases/Indexes - Women and Gender Studies



Academic Search Premier This scholarly database contains over 3,600 peer-reviewed publications in full-text on every subject.

AnthroSource Anthrosource is a complete electronic archive of all American Anthropological Association journals through 2003. Additionally, current issues for eleven of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications including American Anthropologist and Cultural Anthropology are available at the site.

ArticleFirst Large multidisciplinary database indexing scholarly articles.

ATLA Religion Database Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all scholarly fields of religion. 1949-present

Atlanta Constitution - Historical A digitized version of the complete Atlanta Constitution newspaper starting from 1868. Every year three additional years of content will be added.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index Contains citations to biographical entries covering nearly 5 million people.

Chicago Tribune - Historical A digitized version of the complete Chicago Tribune newspaper starting from 1849. Does not have the most recent 22 years of the newspaper.

Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest) Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. More than 600,000 are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate free download.

Early American Newspapers, Series I, 1690-1876 Contains full-page images of nearly 500 historic colonial and U.S. newspapers, based on the collection of the American Antiquarian Society.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online Online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica.

Encyclopedia of Activism & Social Justice The Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice is a three-volume encyclopedia covering the topics, concepts, and ideas that motivate and shape the fields of activism, civil engagement, and social justice, as well as short biographies of the major thinkers and leaders who have influenced the study of activism.

GenderWatch GenderWatch indexes over 200 scholarly journals, magazines, newsletters and newspapers (about 1970 to present) on the evolution of gender roles as they affect men and women. Many of the articles are full-text and there are 19 full-text books

IBSS International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) is the online database equivalent of four separate print indices: the International Bibliography of Political Science, International Bibliography of Anthropology, International Bibliography of Economics, and the International Bibliography of Sociology. It covers journal articles and book titles and includes literature from more than 100 different languages and countries.

Index Islamicus Index Islamicus contains citations and abstracts from over 3,000 journals, as well as books and reviews on Islam and the Muslim world. Publications are in mostly European languages.

Index to Jewish Periodicals Citations to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in over 190 journals devoted to Jewish affairs.

International Political Science Abstracts Citations and abstracts from roughly 900 journals and yearbooks in the fields of political science, international relations, and public administration.

Journal Citation Reports Presents quantifiable statistical data that provides a systematic way to evaluate science and social science journals and their impact and influence. JCR Web has the latest five-year data on a journal.

JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive Full-text of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.

LGBT Life with Full Text Index to international literature on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender issues.

MLA Directory of Periodicals Contains information on the journals and series that are indexed in the MLA International Bibliography database

PapersFirst (Worldwide Conference Papers) Papers received at the British Library.

Periodicals Index Online (PIO) & Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) Periodicals Index Online is an electronic index to millions of articles published in over 4,500 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.

PolicyFile: Public Policy Research Resource for the identification of public policy research and analysis.

Proceedings (Worldwide Conference Proceedings) Indexes Conference Proceedings.

Project MUSE: Scholarly Journals Full-text articles from journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

Proquest Research Library Multi-subject reference source covering general and academic periodicals.

PsycINFO & PsycARTICLES Indexes over 1300 journals in psychology and related disciplines.

Rural Development Abstracts Citations and abstracts to journals, reports, conference papers, and books covering economic and social aspects of Third World rural development, including land reform, land and water resources, biotechnology, microfinance, and health and nutrition. Records go back to 1990.

Social Science Journals (ProQuest) Abstracts and some full text of journals and magazines in anthropology, sociology, psychology, business management, public administration, political science, criminology, and economics. 1986 to present.

Sociological Abstracts Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Web of Science A combined citation index which includes the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

Women's Studies International Abstracts of articles from over 2000 journals and magazines in the areas of Women's Studies and feminist research. Also covers books, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, reports and proceedings. Coverage dates from the 19th c. to present. Includes the Women Studies Abstracts (1972 to present) and other bibliographies.

World Bank e-Library Contains over 1700 World Bank books and reports (1968 to present; all titles from 2000 to present) and over 2400 Policy Research Working Papers.

WorldCat A catalog showing the holdings of libraries throughout the world.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts A major political science index, dating from 1975, which provides citations and abstracts to journal articles, book chapters, books, and websites. Subject coverage includes international relations, law, and public administration and policy.
Untitled Document
 
Back to Top  
Return to Homepage  

© 2007 American University. All rights reserved.