how to ... research / ALADIN online services classes & tutorials
American University Library
 
  site search system status  
search
 
how to ... research / ALADIN online services classes and tutorials about the library

 Databases/Indexes - Religion



Academic Search Premier This scholarly database contains over 3,600 peer-reviewed publications in full-text on every subject.

America: History and Life (EBSCO) Provides article abstracts and citations of reviews and dissertations covering the United States and Canada.

Anthropological Index Online The Anthropological Index to Current Periodicals in The Anthropology Library at the British Museum.

AnthroSource Anthrosource is a complete electronic archive of all American Anthropological Association journals through 2003. Additionally, current issues for eleven of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications including American Anthropologist and Cultural Anthropology are available at the site.

ArticleFirst Large multidisciplinary database indexing scholarly articles.

ATLA Religion Database Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all scholarly fields of religion. 1949-present

BookReview Reviews of English-language fiction and non fiction books excluding reviews of textbooks, government publications, and technical books in law and the sciences.

British Humanities Index British Humanities Index covers more than 320 humanities journals, weekly magazines, and newspapers published in the United Kingdom and other English-speaking countries.

Digital Dictionary of Buddhism A compilation of Buddhist terms, texts, temples, schools, persons, etc. found in Buddhist canonical sources.

Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest) Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. More than 600,000 are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate free download.

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 This resource contains digitized images of nearly every extant book, pamphlet, and broadside published in America from 1639 to 1800. Early American Imprints consists of more than 36,000 works and 2,400,000 images; it is an important resource for information about every aspect of life in seventeenth and eighteenth century America.

Early American Newspapers, Series I, 1690-1876 Contains full-page images of nearly 500 historic colonial and U.S. newspapers, based on the collection of the American Antiquarian Society.

Encyclopaedia Judaica Features more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online Online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica.

Encyclopedia of Buddhism This encyclopedia describes the Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices of Buddhism, as well as its different schools and sects.

Encyclopedia of Religion The second edition of this encyclopedia, intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987, includes almost all of the 2,750 original entries -- many heavily updated -- as well as approximately 600 entirely new articles.

Essay & General Literature Index Essay & General Literature Index provides access to nearly 65,000 essays found in over 5,300 printed anthologies and collections, with coverage dating as far back as 1985. Coverage spans the range of the humanities and social sciences.

Historical Atlas of the Islamic World This atlas includes essays on philosophy, arts and architecture, trade, commerce, and manufacturing.

Index Islamicus Index Islamicus contains citations and abstracts from over 3,000 journals, as well as books and reviews on Islam and the Muslim world. Publications are in mostly European languages.

Index of Christian Art Indexes the art of the entire Christian world from apostolic times up to 1400 C.E.

Index to Jewish Periodicals Citations to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in over 190 journals devoted to Jewish affairs.

Journal Citation Reports Presents quantifiable statistical data that provides a systematic way to evaluate science and social science journals and their impact and influence. JCR Web has the latest five-year data on a journal.

JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive Full-text of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.

MLA Directory of Periodicals Contains information on the journals and series that are indexed in the MLA International Bibliography database

PapersFirst (Worldwide Conference Papers) Papers received at the British Library.

Periodicals Index Online (PIO) & Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) Periodicals Index Online is an electronic index to millions of articles published in over 4,500 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.

Proceedings (Worldwide Conference Proceedings) Indexes Conference Proceedings.

Project MUSE: Scholarly Journals Full-text articles from journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

Proquest Research Library Multi-subject reference source covering general and academic periodicals.

Religion (ProQuest) Abstracts and some full text of over 100 journals and magazines in religious studies and theology, including religious news and commentaries. 1986 to present.

Sociological Abstracts Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Web of Science A combined citation index which includes the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

WorldCat A catalog showing the holdings of libraries throughout the world.
Untitled Document
 
Back to Top  
Return to Homepage  

© 2007 American University. All rights reserved.