how to ... research / ALADIN online services classes & tutorials
American University Library
 
  site search system status  
search
 
how to ... research / ALADIN online services classes and tutorials about the library

 Databases/Indexes - Political Science/Public Affairs



Academic Search Premier This scholarly database contains over 3,600 peer-reviewed publications in full-text on every subject.

Alternative Press Index An index of articles from more than 300 alternative, left and radical newspapers and periodicals.

ArticleFirst Large multidisciplinary database indexing scholarly articles.

Atlanta Constitution - Historical A digitized version of the complete Atlanta Constitution newspaper starting from 1868. Every year three additional years of content will be added.

BookReview Reviews of English-language fiction and non fiction books excluding reviews of textbooks, government publications, and technical books in law and the sciences.

Business Knowledge RESEARCH (The Conference Board) The Conference Board disseminates knowledge about management and the marketplace. They conduct research, convene conferences, make forecasts, assess trends, publish information and analysis, and bring executives together to learn from one another.

Chicago Tribune - Historical A digitized version of the complete Chicago Tribune newspaper starting from 1849. Does not have the most recent 22 years of the newspaper.

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs that includes research by think-tanks.

Communication Abstracts Communication Abstracts is a comprehensive resource for locating information on communication related articles, reports, papers, and books. The database covers other disciplines relevant to communication research.

CQ Congress Collection Profiles of members of Congress, their legislative voting behavior, interest group ratings as well as information on key votes, the legislative process and public policy legislation.

CQ Political Reference Suite Online CQ Press books: Politics in America (2000 to present); Washington Information Directory; Congress and the Nation (1945 to present); Political Handbook of the World (2005 to present); Supreme Court Yearbook (1989 to present); Vital Statistics on American Politics; and Historic Documents (1972 to present).

CQ Voting and Elections Collection Analysis and statistics on U.S. presidential, congressional, and gubernatorial elections.

CQ Weekly Comprehensive source for coverage of the U.S. Congress: status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, backroom maneuvering, debates, and reports on issues looming on the congressional horizon

CRS Reports (Congressional Research Service) Provides a variety of in-depth policy analyses and background summaries on every subject of interest to Congress.

Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest) Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. More than 600,000 are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate free download.

EconLit Indexes materials pertaining to Economics.

EIU Country Reports Country political and economic analyses and forecasts from the Economist Intelligence Unit.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online Online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica.

Essay & General Literature Index Essay & General Literature Index provides access to nearly 65,000 essays found in over 5,300 printed anthologies and collections, with coverage dating as far back as 1985. Coverage spans the range of the humanities and social sciences.

GovSearch Carroll's online Directory of Government Officials includes federal, federal regional, state, county, and municipal directories, as well as federal organization charts, defense organization charts, and defense industry charts.

HeinOnline (Legal Materials) Full-text law reviews and journals.

Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) Collection of homeland security policy and strategy related documents. From the U.S. Department of Homeland Security.

IBSS International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) is the online database equivalent of four separate print indices: the International Bibliography of Political Science, International Bibliography of Anthropology, International Bibliography of Economics, and the International Bibliography of Sociology. It covers journal articles and book titles and includes literature from more than 100 different languages and countries.

Index Islamicus Index Islamicus contains citations and abstracts from over 3,000 journals, as well as books and reviews on Islam and the Muslim world. Publications are in mostly European languages.

Index to Jewish Periodicals Citations to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in over 190 journals devoted to Jewish affairs.

International Financial Statistics (IMF) IMF database of statistics on international and domestic finance.

International Political Science Abstracts Citations and abstracts from roughly 900 journals and yearbooks in the fields of political science, international relations, and public administration.

Journal Citation Reports Presents quantifiable statistical data that provides a systematic way to evaluate science and social science journals and their impact and influence. JCR Web has the latest five-year data on a journal.

JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive Full-text of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.

Left Index Provides access to the literature on the left, with a primary emphasis on politically and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside the academy and a secondary emphasis on significant but little known sources of news and ideas.

LexisNexis Congressional U.S. legislative information.

LexisNexis Congressional Hearings Digital Collection Contains the published and many unpublished hearings of the U.S. Congress from 1823-2003.

LGBT Life with Full Text Index to international literature on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender issues.

Los Angeles Times--Historical The complete Los Angeles Times newspaper starting in 1881. Does not have the most recent 22 years of the newspaper.

Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises (1800-1926) Contains digitized images of 22,000 British and American legal treatises from 1800 to 1926, including books, casebooks, practice books, pamphlets, letters, speeches, essays and other works about the making of law (but not the transcript of actual laws or actual cases).

Military & Government Collection Providing current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database covers about 400 titles, with the full text of nearly 300 journals and periodicals and 245 pamphlets.

National Journal Group's Policy Central Web-enhanced premier journal on public policy and politics covering all branches of government with archives back to 1977. Includes the Hotline with reporting and punditry of political news, campaigns, etc. Also includes Technology Daily and Congress Daily.

National Security Archive Declassified documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. Documents include presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, independent reports, briefing papers, White House communications, emails, confidential letters, and other secret materials.

NBER: National Bureau of Economic Research Working papers from the National Bureau of Economic Research.

New York Times--Historical The complete New York Times newspaper starting from 1851. Does not have the most recent 3 years of the newspaper.

PapersFirst (Worldwide Conference Papers) Papers received at the British Library.

Periodicals Index Online (PIO) & Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) Periodicals Index Online is an electronic index to millions of articles published in over 4,500 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.

PolicyFile: Public Policy Research Resource for the identification of public policy research and analysis.

Polling the Nations: The Ultimate Survey Database Polling the Nations is an online database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 500,000 questions and responses from 15,000 surveys conducted from 1986 to the present in the United States and 90 other countries.

Proceedings (Worldwide Conference Proceedings) Indexes Conference Proceedings.

Project MUSE: Scholarly Journals Full-text articles from journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

Proquest Research Library Multi-subject reference source covering general and academic periodicals.

ScienceDirect (access varies by title) ScienceDirect provides online access to American University's Elsevier publishing subscriptions. Coverage for subscribed titles is from 2003 to the current available issue.

Social Science Journals (ProQuest) Abstracts and some full text of journals and magazines in anthropology, sociology, psychology, business management, public administration, political science, criminology, and economics. 1986 to present.

Sociological Abstracts Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Television News Archive An extensive archive of television news broadcasts. CNN broadcasts from 1995 are available free. ABC, NBC, CBS broadcasts from 1968 and FoxNews broadcasts from 2004 are available through video loan, for which Vanderbilt University charges a fee to recover costs.

Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) The transcribed text of the Wall Street Journal newspaper from 1984 to the present. Does not include the complete newspaper.

Washington Post--Historical The complete Washington Post newspaper starting from 1877. Does not have the most recent 16 years of the newspaper.

Web of Science A combined citation index which includes the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

World News Connection English translations of news stories from non-U.S. media monitored by the Office of the Director of National Intelligence’s Open Source Center. Sources include print, broadcast and Web sites and start from Dec. 2004. Formerly known as the Foreign Broadcast News Service (FBIS).

WorldCat A catalog showing the holdings of libraries throughout the world.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts A major political science index, dating from 1975, which provides citations and abstracts to journal articles, book chapters, books, and websites. Subject coverage includes international relations, law, and public administration and policy.
Untitled Document
 
Back to Top  
Return to Homepage  

© 2007 American University. All rights reserved.