how to ... research / ALADIN online services classes & tutorials
American University Library
 
  site search system status  
search
 
how to ... research / ALADIN online services classes and tutorials about the library

 Databases/Indexes - Performing Arts



Academic Search Premier This scholarly database contains over 3,600 peer-reviewed publications in full-text on every subject.

AnthroSource Anthrosource is a complete electronic archive of all American Anthropological Association journals through 2003. Additionally, current issues for eleven of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications including American Anthropologist and Cultural Anthropology are available at the site.

BookReview Reviews of English-language fiction and non fiction books excluding reviews of textbooks, government publications, and technical books in law and the sciences.

British Humanities Index British Humanities Index covers more than 320 humanities journals, weekly magazines, and newspapers published in the United Kingdom and other English-speaking countries.

Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest) Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. More than 600,000 are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate free download.

Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare Includes the complete text of eleven major editions of Shakespeare's works, from the First Folio of 1623, and a range of theater adaptations, including one by Dryden. This resource was made possible by the Samuel J. and Lucy Keker Endowed Library Fund.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online Online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica.

Grove Music Online (Oxford Music Online) An integrated music resource on the web, including the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (second edition; 29 volumes), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (4 volumes), The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (second edition; 3 volumes), The Oxford Dictionary of Music (second edition), and The Oxford Companion to Music.

IIMP Full Text: International Index to Music Periodicals Indexes articles pertaining to music.

IIPA Full Text: International Index to the Performing Arts Multidisciplinary index to the performing arts periodical literature.

Index to Jewish Periodicals Citations to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in over 190 journals devoted to Jewish affairs.

Jazz Discography Detailed catalog of over 100 years of recorded jazz.

JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive Full-text of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.

MLA Directory of Periodicals Contains information on the journals and series that are indexed in the MLA International Bibliography database

Music Index Online Music Index surveys 775 music periodicals from more than 40 countries in 22 languages. The index covers articles, books, and news about all aspects of music.

Musical America A source for breaking music industry news, including people, competitions, awards, reviews, and more. Also included is the Musical American International Directory of the Performing Arts, a directory of more than 14,000 worldwide arts organizations.

Naxos Jazz Naxos Jazz offers close to 23,600 tracks of jazz from over 2,300 albums by more than 500 jazz artists; it is comprised of Naxos Jazz and the 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz.

Naxos Music Library Naxos provides access to a large collection of audio streaming files in the genres of Classical, Jazz/Blues, Film, World and Folk Music.

New York Public Library Dance Collection Catalog New York Public Library online catalog for searching the world's leading repository for materials covering all aspects of dance from all cultures without limitation as to media format, language, or date.

PapersFirst (Worldwide Conference Papers) Papers received at the British Library.

Periodicals Index Online (PIO) & Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) Periodicals Index Online is an electronic index to millions of articles published in over 4,500 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.

Proceedings (Worldwide Conference Proceedings) Indexes Conference Proceedings.

Project MUSE: Scholarly Journals Full-text articles from journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

Proquest Research Library Multi-subject reference source covering general and academic periodicals.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature An international bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines in 202 languages.

Web of Science A combined citation index which includes the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

WorldCat A catalog showing the holdings of libraries throughout the world.
Untitled Document
 
Back to Top  
Return to Homepage  

© 2007 American University. All rights reserved.