how to ... research / ALADIN online services classes & tutorials
American University Library
 
  site search system status  
search
 
how to ... research / ALADIN online services classes and tutorials about the library

 Databases/Indexes - Language and Linguistics



Abstracts in Anthropology The online version of the equivalent print source.

Academic Search Premier This scholarly database contains over 3,600 peer-reviewed publications in full-text on every subject.

AnthroSource Anthrosource is a complete electronic archive of all American Anthropological Association journals through 2003. Additionally, current issues for eleven of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications including American Anthropologist and Cultural Anthropology are available at the site.

ARTFL Project (French Literature) French language writings and tools for the study of French.

ArticleFirst Large multidisciplinary database indexing scholarly articles.

BookReview Reviews of English-language fiction and non fiction books excluding reviews of textbooks, government publications, and technical books in law and the sciences.

Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest) Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. More than 600,000 are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate free download.

Education Full Text Indexes and abstracts articles from an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks, and includes full text from hundreds of journals. Subjects covered include adult education, continuing education, library science, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods, and more.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online Online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica.

Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics (Elsevier) Contains over 3,000 articles in all areas of language and linguistics.

Essay & General Literature Index Essay & General Literature Index provides access to nearly 65,000 essays found in over 5,300 printed anthologies and collections, with coverage dating as far back as 1985. Coverage spans the range of the humanities and social sciences.

Gale Literary Databases In-depth information on the lives and writings of nearly 100,000 authors along with critical reaction to their works.

HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodical Index) Indexes materials about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.

JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive Full-text of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts Abstracts to linguistics articles appearing in more than 140 journals from over 20 countries.

MLA Directory of Periodicals Contains information on the journals and series that are indexed in the MLA International Bibliography database

Oxford English Dictionary Online Includes the 20-volume Oxford English Dictionary and 3-volume Additions Series.

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online Online access to foreign language dictionaries published by Oxford University Press.

PapersFirst (Worldwide Conference Papers) Papers received at the British Library.

Periodicals Index Online (PIO) & Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) Periodicals Index Online is an electronic index to millions of articles published in over 4,500 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.

Proceedings (Worldwide Conference Proceedings) Indexes Conference Proceedings.

Project MUSE: Scholarly Journals Full-text articles from journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

Proquest Research Library Multi-subject reference source covering general and academic periodicals.

Short Story Index Short Story Index is a detailed index of more than 76,500 stories from more than 4,025 collections

Web of Science A combined citation index which includes the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

WorldCat A catalog showing the holdings of libraries throughout the world.
Untitled Document
 
Back to Top  
Return to Homepage  

© 2007 American University. All rights reserved.