how to ... research / ALADIN online services classes & tutorials
American University Library
 
  site search system status  
search
 
how to ... research / ALADIN online services classes and tutorials about the library

 Databases/Indexes - History



Academic Search Premier This scholarly database contains over 3,600 peer-reviewed publications in full-text on every subject.

African American Newspapers: The 19th Century Full access to seven 19th century African American newspapers.

America: History and Life (EBSCO) Provides article abstracts and citations of reviews and dissertations covering the United States and Canada.

American Periodical Series Online 1740-1900 Digitized versions of American periodicals that originated between 1741 and 1900.

AnthroSource Anthrosource is a complete electronic archive of all American Anthropological Association journals through 2003. Additionally, current issues for eleven of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications including American Anthropologist and Cultural Anthropology are available at the site.

Archive Finder Archive Finder is an index of over 206,000 manuscript collections as well as a directory of primary source repositories in the United States, United Kingdom, and Ireland. Researchers can use it to determine whether a collection contains material useful to their work. Archive Finder is comprised of ArchivesUSA and the cumulative index to the National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the UK and Ireland (NIDS UK/Ireland).

ArticleFirst Large multidisciplinary database indexing scholarly articles.

ATLA Religion Database Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all scholarly fields of religion. 1949-present

Atlanta Constitution - Historical A digitized version of the complete Atlanta Constitution newspaper starting from 1868. Every year three additional years of content will be added.

Bibliography of the History of Art Covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index Contains citations to biographical entries covering nearly 5 million people.

BookReview Reviews of English-language fiction and non fiction books excluding reviews of textbooks, government publications, and technical books in law and the sciences.

Chicago Tribune - Historical A digitized version of the complete Chicago Tribune newspaper starting from 1849. Does not have the most recent 22 years of the newspaper.

CQ Political Reference Suite Online CQ Press books: Politics in America (2000 to present); Washington Information Directory; Congress and the Nation (1945 to present); Political Handbook of the World (2005 to present); Supreme Court Yearbook (1989 to present); Vital Statistics on American Politics; and Historic Documents (1972 to present).

Declassified Documents Reference System The DDRS contains about 100,000 declassified documents (600,000 pages) from 1945 to 2001. These documents are from the U.S. presidential libraries (FDR through Clinton) and the National Archives, and deal with nearly every major foreign and domestic event. Approximately 25,000 pages are added annually.

This resource was purchased in part through the generous support of Ronald Hamowy and Clement Ho.


Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest) Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. More than 600,000 are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate free download.

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 This resource contains digitized images of nearly every extant book, pamphlet, and broadside published in America from 1639 to 1800. Early American Imprints consists of more than 36,000 works and 2,400,000 images; it is an important resource for information about every aspect of life in seventeenth and eighteenth century America.

Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 Full images of over 36,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the U.S. in the early 19th century covering all aspects of American life. Based on the "American Bibliography 1801-1819" by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker.

This resource was made possible through the Roger H. and Nancy Brown Endowed Library Fund


Early American Newspapers, Series I, 1690-1876 Contains full-page images of nearly 500 historic colonial and U.S. newspapers, based on the collection of the American Antiquarian Society.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online Contains the digitized format of 150,000 printed works including every significant English language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online Online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica.

Encyclopedia of Religion The second edition of this encyclopedia, intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987, includes almost all of the 2,750 original entries -- many heavily updated -- as well as approximately 600 entirely new articles.

Europe 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World Six-volume encyclopedia (2004) covering European history from 1450-1789, from the print revolution to the French Revolution.

Grove Art Online (Oxford Art Online) Articles on every aspect of the visual arts from prehistory through the present.

HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodical Index) Indexes materials about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.

HarpWeek (Harper's Weekly: 1857-1912) Digital reproductions of Harper's Weekly magazine from the Civil War Era.

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) Bibliographic database covering the world's scholarly literature in history, excluding the United States and Canada. Equivalent to the printed version of Historical Abstracts.

Historical Atlas of the Islamic World This atlas includes essays on philosophy, arts and architecture, trade, commerce, and manufacturing.

Historical Statistics of the United States Social and economic statistics of the United States from colonial times to 2000.

History Cooperative Full text to over 20 scholarly history journals.

Index Islamicus Index Islamicus contains citations and abstracts from over 3,000 journals, as well as books and reviews on Islam and the Muslim world. Publications are in mostly European languages.

Index of Christian Art Indexes the art of the entire Christian world from apostolic times up to 1400 C.E.

Index to Jewish Periodicals Citations to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in over 190 journals devoted to Jewish affairs.

Journal Citation Reports Presents quantifiable statistical data that provides a systematic way to evaluate science and social science journals and their impact and influence. JCR Web has the latest five-year data on a journal.

JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive Full-text of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.

Left Index Provides access to the literature on the left, with a primary emphasis on politically and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside the academy and a secondary emphasis on significant but little known sources of news and ideas.

LGBT Life with Full Text Index to international literature on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender issues.

Los Angeles Times--Historical The complete Los Angeles Times newspaper starting in 1881. Does not have the most recent 22 years of the newspaper.

National Security Archive Declassified documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. Documents include presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, independent reports, briefing papers, White House communications, emails, confidential letters, and other secret materials.

New York Times--Historical The complete New York Times newspaper starting from 1851. Does not have the most recent 3 years of the newspaper.

PAIS International Indexes journals and monographs dealing with political, social and public policy issues.

PapersFirst (Worldwide Conference Papers) Papers received at the British Library.

Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800 Transcribed text of the Pennsylvania Gazette, a prominent early American newspaper.

Periodicals Index Online (PIO) & Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) Periodicals Index Online is an electronic index to millions of articles published in over 4,500 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.

Proceedings (Worldwide Conference Proceedings) Indexes Conference Proceedings.

Project MUSE: Scholarly Journals Full-text articles from journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

Proquest Research Library Multi-subject reference source covering general and academic periodicals.

Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 An index to 369 U.S. popular magazines and journals published from 1890 to 1982. This is the online version of the Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature.

Social Science Journals (ProQuest) Abstracts and some full text of journals and magazines in anthropology, sociology, psychology, business management, public administration, political science, criminology, and economics. 1986 to present.

Times Digital Archive, 1785 - 1985 The complete London Times newspaper starting in 1785 and ending in 1985.

Washington Post--Historical The complete Washington Post newspaper starting from 1877. Does not have the most recent 16 years of the newspaper.

Web of Science A combined citation index which includes the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

WorldCat A catalog showing the holdings of libraries throughout the world.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts A major political science index, dating from 1975, which provides citations and abstracts to journal articles, book chapters, books, and websites. Subject coverage includes international relations, law, and public administration and policy.
Untitled Document
 
Back to Top  
Return to Homepage  

© 2007 American University. All rights reserved.