how to ... research / ALADIN online services classes & tutorials
American University Library
 
  site search system status  
search
 
how to ... research / ALADIN online services classes and tutorials about the library

 Databases/Indexes - Health and Fitness



ABI/INFORM Business & Management Articles

Academic Search Premier This scholarly database contains over 3,600 peer-reviewed publications in full-text on every subject.

Applied Science and Technology Indexes over 400 core English-language scientific and technical publications.

ArticleFirst Large multidisciplinary database indexing scholarly articles.

Biological Abstracts (1993-present) Major indexing and abstracting resource for biology.

Biological and Agricultural Index Covers 292 periodicals in the core literature of biology and agriculture.

BioMed Central Provides access to over 100 open access journals covering all areas of Biology and Medicine.

BioOne A full-text database of high-impact bioscience, environmental science, and ecology journals.

ERIC (Education) via CSA Comprehensive index of materials published about Education. Access is through the vendor CSA

ERIC (Education) via OVID Comprehensive index of materials published about Education. Access is through the vendor OVID

HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodical Index) Indexes materials about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.

JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive Full-text of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.

LexisNexis Academic An excellent source of up-to-date news, business and legal information. News stories date back to the late 1970s.

Medline An online database of over 18 million citations on biomedical literature from the National Library of Medicine.

Mental Measurements Yearbook Descriptions and critical reviews of over 2,200 commercially available tests in categories such as personality, developmental, behavioral assessment, neuropsychological, achievement, intelligence, attitude measures, aptitude measures, educational, speech and hearing, and sensory motor.

Pharmaceutical News Index Abstracts and some full text of 20 publications on pharmacological, health care, biotechnology, and medical device industry news, research, and regulatory information. 1974 to present.

PolicyFile: Public Policy Research Resource for the identification of public policy research and analysis.

Project MUSE: Scholarly Journals Full-text articles from journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

Proquest Research Library Multi-subject reference source covering general and academic periodicals.

PsycINFO & PsycARTICLES Indexes over 1300 journals in psychology and related disciplines.

PubMed (free resource) This database from the National Library of Medicine offers over 18 million citations to biomedical and life sciences literature, plus links to full-text resources.

Science Citation Index (Web of Science) Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in 3,500 major science journals from 1945 to the present.

Science Journals (ProQuest) Abstracts and some full text of journals and magazines in biology, ecology, environmental science, medicine, engineering, physics, and astronomy. 1987 to present

Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals from 1956 to the present.

Social Services Abstracts Citations and abstracts from over 1800 serials as well as dissertations on social work, human services, social welfare, and social policy

Sociological Abstracts Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

TOXLINE This database, produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens.
Untitled Document
 
Back to Top  
Return to Homepage  

© 2007 American University. All rights reserved.