how to ... research / ALADIN online services classes & tutorials
American University Library
 
  site search system status  
search
 
how to ... research / ALADIN online services classes and tutorials about the library

 Databases/Indexes - Environmental Studies



Academic Search Premier This scholarly database contains over 3,600 peer-reviewed publications in full-text on every subject.

Antarctic Bibliography (free resource) The Antarctic Bibliography covers all disciplines related to the region, including biology, geology, meteorology, oceanography, and political geography.

Applied Science and Technology Indexes over 400 core English-language scientific and technical publications.

ArticleFirst Large multidisciplinary database indexing scholarly articles.

Bibliography on Cold Regions Science and Technology (free resource) This database contains references to scientific research on the impact of cold environments on human beings and on materials.

Biological and Agricultural Index Covers 292 periodicals in the core literature of biology and agriculture.

BioMed Central Provides access to over 100 open access journals covering all areas of Biology and Medicine.

BioOne A full-text database of high-impact bioscience, environmental science, and ecology journals.

BioOne Abstracts and Indexes BioOne Abstracts & Indexes is an indexed and fully-searchable collection of abstracts that link to the full-text articles available from the BioOne organization.

BookReview Reviews of English-language fiction and non fiction books excluding reviews of textbooks, government publications, and technical books in law and the sciences.

CQ Researcher Reports on "hot" issues in the news, including social, environmental, health, education, science and technology topics.

CRS Reports (Congressional Research Service) Provides a variety of in-depth policy analyses and background summaries on every subject of interest to Congress.

Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest) Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. More than 600,000 are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate free download.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online Online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica.

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management Indexes journal articles in the Environmental Sciences.

GEOBASE Provides citations and abstracts to books, conference proceedings, reports and over 1,800 journals on development studies, the earth sciences, ecology, geomechanics, human geography, oceanography, and the environment. Coverage is from 1980 to the present. Includes the International Development Abstracts.

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia A completely revised and updated version of the original work published in Germany in 1960, this edition incorporates recent developments in the animal world as noted by prominent advisors and contributors from the scientific community.

International Political Science Abstracts Citations and abstracts from roughly 900 journals and yearbooks in the fields of political science, international relations, and public administration.

Journal Citation Reports Presents quantifiable statistical data that provides a systematic way to evaluate science and social science journals and their impact and influence. JCR Web has the latest five-year data on a journal.

JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive Full-text of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.

PapersFirst (Worldwide Conference Papers) Papers received at the British Library.

Periodicals Index Online (PIO) & Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) Periodicals Index Online is an electronic index to millions of articles published in over 4,500 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.

Proceedings (Worldwide Conference Proceedings) Indexes Conference Proceedings.

Project MUSE: Scholarly Journals Full-text articles from journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

Proquest Research Library Multi-subject reference source covering general and academic periodicals.

Rural Development Abstracts Citations and abstracts to journals, reports, conference papers, and books covering economic and social aspects of Third World rural development, including land reform, land and water resources, biotechnology, microfinance, and health and nutrition. Records go back to 1990.

Science Journals (ProQuest) Abstracts and some full text of journals and magazines in biology, ecology, environmental science, medicine, engineering, physics, and astronomy. 1987 to present

ScienceDirect (access varies by title) ScienceDirect provides online access to American University's Elsevier publishing subscriptions. Coverage for subscribed titles is from 2003 to the current available issue.

Sociological Abstracts Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

TOXLINE This database, produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens.

WDI Online (World Development Indicators) World Bank data on development: environment, people, economy, global links.

Web of Science A combined citation index which includes the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

World Agricultural Economics & Rural Sociology Abstracts Citations and abstracts to journals, reports, conference papers, and books on agricultural economics, environmental and natural resources, biotechnology, and rural sociology. Records go back to 1990.

World Bank e-Library Contains over 1700 World Bank books and reports (1968 to present; all titles from 2000 to present) and over 2400 Policy Research Working Papers.

World News Connection English translations of news stories from non-U.S. media monitored by the Office of the Director of National Intelligence’s Open Source Center. Sources include print, broadcast and Web sites and start from Dec. 2004. Formerly known as the Foreign Broadcast News Service (FBIS).

WorldCat A catalog showing the holdings of libraries throughout the world.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts A major political science index, dating from 1975, which provides citations and abstracts to journal articles, book chapters, books, and websites. Subject coverage includes international relations, law, and public administration and policy.
Untitled Document
 
Back to Top  
Return to Homepage  

© 2007 American University. All rights reserved.