how to ... research / ALADIN online services classes & tutorials
American University Library
 
  site search system status  
search
 
how to ... research / ALADIN online services classes and tutorials about the library

 Databases/Indexes - DC History



Academic Search Premier This scholarly database contains over 3,600 peer-reviewed publications in full-text on every subject.

America: History and Life (EBSCO) Provides article abstracts and citations of reviews and dissertations covering the United States and Canada.

American Periodical Series Online 1740-1900 Digitized versions of American periodicals that originated between 1741 and 1900.

American University History: Photograph and Print Collection This collection of photographs documents the early history of American University and its campus in northwest Washington D.C., near Ward Circle, at the intersection of Massachusetts and Nebraska Avenues.

Archive Finder Archive Finder is an index of over 206,000 manuscript collections as well as a directory of primary source repositories in the United States, United Kingdom, and Ireland. Researchers can use it to determine whether a collection contains material useful to their work. Archive Finder is comprised of ArchivesUSA and the cumulative index to the National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the UK and Ireland (NIDS UK/Ireland).

ArticleFirst Large multidisciplinary database indexing scholarly articles.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index Contains citations to biographical entries covering nearly 5 million people.

Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest) Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. More than 600,000 are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate free download.

Drew Pearson's Washington Merry-Go-Round This collection consists of Pearson's syndicated Washington Merry-Go-Round column published between 1932 and 1969.

Eagle, The (American University) A complete digitized copy of American University’s undergraduate student newspaper, The Eagle, from 1925 to 1996.

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 This resource contains digitized images of nearly every extant book, pamphlet, and broadside published in America from 1639 to 1800. Early American Imprints consists of more than 36,000 works and 2,400,000 images; it is an important resource for information about every aspect of life in seventeenth and eighteenth century America.

Early American Newspapers, Series I, 1690-1876 Contains full-page images of nearly 500 historic colonial and U.S. newspapers, based on the collection of the American Antiquarian Society.

HarpWeek (Harper's Weekly: 1857-1912) Digital reproductions of Harper's Weekly magazine from the Civil War Era.

History Cooperative Full text to over 20 scholarly history journals.

JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive Full-text of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.

LexisNexis Academic An excellent source of up-to-date news, business and legal information. News stories date back to the late 1970s.

Periodicals Index Online (PIO) & Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) Periodicals Index Online is an electronic index to millions of articles published in over 4,500 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.

Project MUSE: Scholarly Journals Full-text articles from journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

Proquest Research Library Multi-subject reference source covering general and academic periodicals.

Washington Post--Historical The complete Washington Post newspaper starting from 1877. Does not have the most recent 16 years of the newspaper.
Untitled Document
 
Back to Top  
Return to Homepage  

© 2007 American University. All rights reserved.