how to ... research / ALADIN online services classes & tutorials
American University Library
 
  site search system status  
search
 
how to ... research / ALADIN online services classes and tutorials about the library

 Databases/Indexes - Criminal Justice



Academic Search Premier This scholarly database contains over 3,600 peer-reviewed publications in full-text on every subject.

Alternative Press Index An index of articles from more than 300 alternative, left and radical newspapers and periodicals.

ArticleFirst Large multidisciplinary database indexing scholarly articles.

BookReview Reviews of English-language fiction and non fiction books excluding reviews of textbooks, government publications, and technical books in law and the sciences.

CQ Political Reference Suite Online CQ Press books: Politics in America (2000 to present); Washington Information Directory; Congress and the Nation (1945 to present); Political Handbook of the World (2005 to present); Supreme Court Yearbook (1989 to present); Vital Statistics on American Politics; and Historic Documents (1972 to present).

CQ Researcher Reports on "hot" issues in the news, including social, environmental, health, education, science and technology topics.

CQ Weekly Comprehensive source for coverage of the U.S. Congress: status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, backroom maneuvering, debates, and reports on issues looming on the congressional horizon

Criminal Justice Abstracts Citations and abstracts of international journals, books, reports, dissertations and

CRS Reports (Congressional Research Service) Provides a variety of in-depth policy analyses and background summaries on every subject of interest to Congress.

Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest) Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. More than 600,000 are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate free download.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online Online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica.

Encyclopedia of Activism & Social Justice The Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice is a three-volume encyclopedia covering the topics, concepts, and ideas that motivate and shape the fields of activism, civil engagement, and social justice, as well as short biographies of the major thinkers and leaders who have influenced the study of activism.

Encyclopedia of Prisons and Correctional Facilities Online version of the 2-volume Encyclopedia of Prisons and Correctional Facilities (2005).

HeinOnline (Legal Materials) Full-text law reviews and journals.

Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) Collection of homeland security policy and strategy related documents. From the U.S. Department of Homeland Security.

IBSS International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) is the online database equivalent of four separate print indices: the International Bibliography of Political Science, International Bibliography of Anthropology, International Bibliography of Economics, and the International Bibliography of Sociology. It covers journal articles and book titles and includes literature from more than 100 different languages and countries.

Index Islamicus Index Islamicus contains citations and abstracts from over 3,000 journals, as well as books and reviews on Islam and the Muslim world. Publications are in mostly European languages.

Index to Jewish Periodicals Citations to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in over 190 journals devoted to Jewish affairs.

International Political Science Abstracts Citations and abstracts from roughly 900 journals and yearbooks in the fields of political science, international relations, and public administration.

Journal Citation Reports Presents quantifiable statistical data that provides a systematic way to evaluate science and social science journals and their impact and influence. JCR Web has the latest five-year data on a journal.

JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive Full-text of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.

Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises (1800-1926) Contains digitized images of 22,000 British and American legal treatises from 1800 to 1926, including books, casebooks, practice books, pamphlets, letters, speeches, essays and other works about the making of law (but not the transcript of actual laws or actual cases).

National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts The NCJRS Abstracts database is produced by the U.S. Dept. of Justice and, as of Oct. 2002, contains summaries of over 174,000 U.S. and international publications on research, policy, and practice related to criminal and juvenile justice and drug control.

PapersFirst (Worldwide Conference Papers) Papers received at the British Library.

Periodicals Index Online (PIO) & Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) Periodicals Index Online is an electronic index to millions of articles published in over 4,500 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.

PolicyFile: Public Policy Research Resource for the identification of public policy research and analysis.

Proceedings (Worldwide Conference Proceedings) Indexes Conference Proceedings.

Project MUSE: Scholarly Journals Full-text articles from journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

Proquest Research Library Multi-subject reference source covering general and academic periodicals.

PsycINFO & PsycARTICLES Indexes over 1300 journals in psychology and related disciplines.

Social Science Journals (ProQuest) Abstracts and some full text of journals and magazines in anthropology, sociology, psychology, business management, public administration, political science, criminology, and economics. 1986 to present.

Sociological Abstracts Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) The transcribed text of the Wall Street Journal newspaper from 1984 to the present. Does not include the complete newspaper.

Web of Science A combined citation index which includes the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

WorldCat A catalog showing the holdings of libraries throughout the world.
Untitled Document
 
Back to Top  
Return to Homepage  

© 2007 American University. All rights reserved.