how to ... research / ALADIN online services classes & tutorials
American University Library
 
  site search system status  
search
 
how to ... research / ALADIN online services classes and tutorials about the library

 Databases/Indexes - Business



ABI/INFORM Business & Management Articles

Academic Search Premier This scholarly database contains over 3,600 peer-reviewed publications in full-text on every subject.

Accounting and Tax (ProQuest) Abstracts and some full text of journals, magazines, and newsletters on accounting policies and standards, state and national tax legislation, corporate and individual taxation, compensation and pension plans, and corporate financial management, as well as profiles of accounting firms, CPAs, and management consulting firms.

Advertisers and Ad Agencies (Redbooks) Lists advertisers that spend at least $200,000 in advertising expenditures, the media they use, and ad agencies that represent them.

Asian Business (ProQuest) Asian business and financial information.

Business and Company Resource Center Includes company profiles, histories, and rankings; periodical abstracts and selected full-text, product information and industry overviews.

Business Knowledge RESEARCH (The Conference Board) The Conference Board disseminates knowledge about management and the marketplace. They conduct research, convene conferences, make forecasts, assess trends, publish information and analysis, and bring executives together to learn from one another.

Business Source Premier This major resource includes more than 2,300 full-text journals, industry reports, and market research reports.

D&B Million Dollar Database D&B's North American Million Dollar Database provides information on approximately 1,600,000 U.S. and Canadian leading public and private businesses. Company information includes industry information with up to 24 individual 8-digit SICs, size criteria (employees and annual sales), type of ownership, principal executives and biographies.

Directory of Corporate Affiliations Information on public, international, and private companies. Includes corporate hierarchy and family tree to locate subsidiaries and divisions.

Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest) Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. More than 600,000 are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate free download.

EconLit Indexes materials pertaining to Economics.

EIU Country Reports Country political and economic analyses and forecasts from the Economist Intelligence Unit.

EIU Executive Briefing Full-text articles on management thinking and e-business and analyses and forecasts on global industry trends in over 60 major markets and 8 key industries. From the Economist Intelligence Unit.

Encyclopedia of American Industries Information on a wide range of industries in every realm of American business.

Encyclopedia of Public Relations This encyclopedia explores the evolution of the PR field, with examples from history describing events, changing practices, and the key figures who developed and expanded the profession.

Euromonitor Passport GMID Industry, consumer and country statistics and reports for countries around the world, including emerging markets.
Please note: Access is limited to AU authorized users with a valid AU ID. After clicking on the link, authorized users must read and accept the Terms & Conditions to enter the database.

European Business (ProQuest) European business and financial information.

Gartner Research (via my.american.edu) To access Gartner Research, log into your my.american.edu account. On the right sidebar, click on "Technology." Under the "Personalized Links" section of the page, click on "Gartner Research Portal." Then click on "Go to Gartner Research Portal." Questions may be directed to the IT Help Desk at helpdesk@american.edu.
Contains statistics, forecasts, market analysis, and research on many topics to assist clients in design, implementation, and marketing of information technology systems and services.

Hoover's Company Records (ProQuest) Proprietary information on more than 40,000 public and non-public companies.

Human Resources Abstracts Human Resources Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering areas related to human resources, including human resource management, employee assistance, organizational behavior, and other areas of relevance to the discipline. Indexed titles include Journal of Human Resources, Human Resource Management, and Human Resource Development International.

IBISWorld Contains detailed reports on industries in the United States.

IEEE Computer Society Digital Library Full text of 21 IEEE Computer Society periodicals, plus over 800 conference proceedings.

International Abstracts of Human Resources Abstracts from 53 journals in the human resource management field.

International Financial Statistics (IMF) IMF database of statistics on international and domestic finance.

Journal Citation Reports Presents quantifiable statistical data that provides a systematic way to evaluate science and social science journals and their impact and influence. JCR Web has the latest five-year data on a journal.

JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive Full-text of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.

JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive Full-text of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.

Key Business Ratios Financial norms and business ratio data, arranged by SIC code.

LexisNexis Academic An excellent source of up-to-date news, business and legal information. News stories date back to the late 1970s.

LexisNexis Statistical U.S. statistical information from the American Statistics Index. Includes Statistical Abstract of the United States and a selection of full-text documents.

MarketResearch.com Academic Provides full text market research reports on industries as diverse as pet service, baby food and pharmaceuticals. Also contains reports on demographic groups such as college students, Hispanics, and affluent markets.

Mergent Online Detailed business and financial information for US and international companies.

Pharmaceutical News Index Abstracts and some full text of 20 publications on pharmacological, health care, biotechnology, and medical device industry news, research, and regulatory information. 1974 to present.

Proquest Research Library Multi-subject reference source covering general and academic periodicals.

Social Science Journals (ProQuest) Abstracts and some full text of journals and magazines in anthropology, sociology, psychology, business management, public administration, political science, criminology, and economics. 1986 to present.

SourceOECD Books, periodicals, statistics and working papers from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development

SRDS Media Solutions Provides media rates and information for over 100,000 U.S. and international media properties.

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage Standard & Poor’s NetAdvantage gives users access to a number of S&P's research products, including: Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Mutual Fund Reports, Bond Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, and The Outlook, among others.

Statistics Canada - E-STAT Canadian statistical data. Updated once a year in the summer.

UN Comtrade Provides data for over 140 reporting countries. This is the UN official source for imports, exports, and re-exports for 90% of world trade.

ValueLine.com ValueLine provides individual stock reports for U.S. companies as well as industry reviews.

Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) The transcribed text of the Wall Street Journal newspaper from 1984 to the present. Does not include the complete newspaper.

Wall Street Transcript Industry and company information.

WDI Online (World Development Indicators) World Bank data on development: environment, people, economy, global links.

WorldCat A catalog showing the holdings of libraries throughout the world.

Worldmark Encyclopedia of National Economies Presents basic information about the economies of 198 countries and territories.

WRDS: Wharton Research Data Service WRDS provides access to data in the university’s subscriptions to Standard & Poor’s Compustat Global and Compustat North America, as well as from CRSP’s daily and monthly stocks. WRDS is provided by The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania.
Untitled Document
 
Back to Top  
Return to Homepage  

© 2007 American University. All rights reserved.