how to ... research / ALADIN online services classes & tutorials
American University Library
 
  site search system status  
search
 
how to ... research / ALADIN online services classes and tutorials about the library

 Databases/Indexes - Biology



Academic Search Premier This scholarly database contains over 3,600 peer-reviewed publications in full-text on every subject.

Antarctic Bibliography (free resource) The Antarctic Bibliography covers all disciplines related to the region, including biology, geology, meteorology, oceanography, and political geography.

Applied Science and Technology Indexes over 400 core English-language scientific and technical publications.

ArticleFirst Large multidisciplinary database indexing scholarly articles.

Bibliography on Cold Regions Science and Technology (free resource) This database contains references to scientific research on the impact of cold environments on human beings and on materials.

Biological Abstracts (1993-present) Major indexing and abstracting resource for biology.

Biological and Agricultural Index Covers 292 periodicals in the core literature of biology and agriculture.

BioMed Central Provides access to over 100 open access journals covering all areas of Biology and Medicine.

BioOne A full-text database of high-impact bioscience, environmental science, and ecology journals.

BioOne Abstracts and Indexes BioOne Abstracts & Indexes is an indexed and fully-searchable collection of abstracts that link to the full-text articles available from the BioOne organization.

Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest) Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. More than 600,000 are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate free download.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online Online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica.

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management Indexes journal articles in the Environmental Sciences.

GEOBASE Provides citations and abstracts to books, conference proceedings, reports and over 1,800 journals on development studies, the earth sciences, ecology, geomechanics, human geography, oceanography, and the environment. Coverage is from 1980 to the present. Includes the International Development Abstracts.

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia A completely revised and updated version of the original work published in Germany in 1960, this edition incorporates recent developments in the animal world as noted by prominent advisors and contributors from the scientific community.

Journal Citation Reports Presents quantifiable statistical data that provides a systematic way to evaluate science and social science journals and their impact and influence. JCR Web has the latest five-year data on a journal.

Medline An online database of over 18 million citations on biomedical literature from the National Library of Medicine.

PapersFirst (Worldwide Conference Papers) Papers received at the British Library.

PILOTS: Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress This database, sponsored by the U.S. Dept. of Veterans Affairs, offers current and retrospective bibliographic citations to the literature of post-traumatic stress disorder.

Proceedings (Worldwide Conference Proceedings) Indexes Conference Proceedings.

Project MUSE: Scholarly Journals Full-text articles from journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

Proquest Research Library Multi-subject reference source covering general and academic periodicals.

PubMed (free resource) This database from the National Library of Medicine offers over 18 million citations to biomedical and life sciences literature, plus links to full-text resources.

Science Journals (ProQuest) Abstracts and some full text of journals and magazines in biology, ecology, environmental science, medicine, engineering, physics, and astronomy. 1987 to present

ScienceDirect (access varies by title) ScienceDirect provides online access to American University's Elsevier publishing subscriptions. Coverage for subscribed titles is from 2003 to the current available issue.

SciFinder Scholar/Chemical Abstracts Includes Chemical Abstracts, chemical compound information, Medline, information on chemical reactions, chemical supplier information, chemical registry information.

Web of Science A combined citation index which includes the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

World of Microbiology and Immunology An encyclopedia with 650 entries on the concepts, theories, and discoveries in microbiology and immunology.

WorldCat A catalog showing the holdings of libraries throughout the world.
Untitled Document
 
Back to Top  
Return to Homepage  

© 2007 American University. All rights reserved.