how to ... research / ALADIN online services classes & tutorials
American University Library
 
  site search system status  
search
 
how to ... research / ALADIN online services classes and tutorials about the library

 Databases/Indexes - Art/Architecture



Academic Search Premier This scholarly database contains over 3,600 peer-reviewed publications in full-text on every subject.

Art Abstracts Coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. Also indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.

Art Images Collection Images of works of art and architecture from Gardner's Art Through the Ages. No text.

ARTbibliographies Modern ARTbibliography Modern provides access to full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, Ph.D. dissertations, and exhibit reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.

ArticleFirst Large multidisciplinary database indexing scholarly articles.

ARTstor A collection of 300,000 digital art images and associated data for use in teaching and research.

ATLA Religion Database Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all scholarly fields of religion. 1949-present

Bibliography of the History of Art Covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present.

BookReview Reviews of English-language fiction and non fiction books excluding reviews of textbooks, government publications, and technical books in law and the sciences.

British Humanities Index British Humanities Index covers more than 320 humanities journals, weekly magazines, and newspapers published in the United Kingdom and other English-speaking countries.

Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest) Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. More than 600,000 are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate free download.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online Online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica.

Encyclopedia of Religion The second edition of this encyclopedia, intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987, includes almost all of the 2,750 original entries -- many heavily updated -- as well as approximately 600 entirely new articles.

Essay & General Literature Index Essay & General Literature Index provides access to nearly 65,000 essays found in over 5,300 printed anthologies and collections, with coverage dating as far back as 1985. Coverage spans the range of the humanities and social sciences.

Grove Art Online (Oxford Art Online) Articles on every aspect of the visual arts from prehistory through the present.

Index of Christian Art Indexes the art of the entire Christian world from apostolic times up to 1400 C.E.

JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive Full-text of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.

Museum Educational Site Licensing Project (MESL) Digital access to museum collections maintained by academic institutions.

PapersFirst (Worldwide Conference Papers) Papers received at the British Library.

Periodicals Index Online (PIO) & Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) Periodicals Index Online is an electronic index to millions of articles published in over 4,500 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.

Proceedings (Worldwide Conference Proceedings) Indexes Conference Proceedings.

Project MUSE: Scholarly Journals Full-text articles from journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

Proquest Research Library Multi-subject reference source covering general and academic periodicals.

Web of Science A combined citation index which includes the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

WorldCat A catalog showing the holdings of libraries throughout the world.
Untitled Document
 
Back to Top  
Return to Homepage  

© 2007 American University. All rights reserved.