how to ... research / ALADIN online services classes & tutorials
American University Library
 
  site search system status  
search
 
how to ... research / ALADIN online services classes and tutorials about the library

 Databases/Indexes - American Studies



Academic Search Premier This scholarly database contains over 3,600 peer-reviewed publications in full-text on every subject.

African American Newspapers: The 19th Century Full access to seven 19th century African American newspapers.

America: History and Life (EBSCO) Provides article abstracts and citations of reviews and dissertations covering the United States and Canada.

American Periodical Series Online 1740-1900 Digitized versions of American periodicals that originated between 1741 and 1900.

Anthropological Index Online The Anthropological Index to Current Periodicals in The Anthropology Library at the British Museum.

ArticleFirst Large multidisciplinary database indexing scholarly articles.

Atlanta Constitution - Historical A digitized version of the complete Atlanta Constitution newspaper starting from 1868. Every year three additional years of content will be added.

BookReview Reviews of English-language fiction and non fiction books excluding reviews of textbooks, government publications, and technical books in law and the sciences.

Chicago Tribune - Historical A digitized version of the complete Chicago Tribune newspaper starting from 1849. Does not have the most recent 22 years of the newspaper.

CQ Congress Collection Profiles of members of Congress, their legislative voting behavior, interest group ratings as well as information on key votes, the legislative process and public policy legislation.

CQ Researcher Reports on "hot" issues in the news, including social, environmental, health, education, science and technology topics.

CQ Voting and Elections Collection Analysis and statistics on U.S. presidential, congressional, and gubernatorial elections.

CQ Weekly Comprehensive source for coverage of the U.S. Congress: status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, backroom maneuvering, debates, and reports on issues looming on the congressional horizon

Criminal Justice Abstracts Citations and abstracts of international journals, books, reports, dissertations and

CRS Reports (Congressional Research Service) Provides a variety of in-depth policy analyses and background summaries on every subject of interest to Congress.

Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest) Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. More than 600,000 are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate free download.

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 This resource contains digitized images of nearly every extant book, pamphlet, and broadside published in America from 1639 to 1800. Early American Imprints consists of more than 36,000 works and 2,400,000 images; it is an important resource for information about every aspect of life in seventeenth and eighteenth century America.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online Contains the digitized format of 150,000 printed works including every significant English language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online Online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica.

GovSearch Carroll's online Directory of Government Officials includes federal, federal regional, state, county, and municipal directories, as well as federal organization charts, defense organization charts, and defense industry charts.

HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodical Index) Indexes materials about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.

HarpWeek (Harper's Weekly: 1857-1912) Digital reproductions of Harper's Weekly magazine from the Civil War Era.

HeinOnline (Legal Materials) Full-text law reviews and journals.

Journal Citation Reports Presents quantifiable statistical data that provides a systematic way to evaluate science and social science journals and their impact and influence. JCR Web has the latest five-year data on a journal.

JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive Full-text of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.

Left Index Provides access to the literature on the left, with a primary emphasis on politically and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside the academy and a secondary emphasis on significant but little known sources of news and ideas.

LexisNexis Congressional U.S. legislative information.

National Security Archive Declassified documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. Documents include presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, independent reports, briefing papers, White House communications, emails, confidential letters, and other secret materials.

PapersFirst (Worldwide Conference Papers) Papers received at the British Library.

Periodicals Index Online (PIO) & Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) Periodicals Index Online is an electronic index to millions of articles published in over 4,500 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.

PolicyFile: Public Policy Research Resource for the identification of public policy research and analysis.

Polling the Nations: The Ultimate Survey Database Polling the Nations is an online database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 500,000 questions and responses from 15,000 surveys conducted from 1986 to the present in the United States and 90 other countries.

Proceedings (Worldwide Conference Proceedings) Indexes Conference Proceedings.

Project MUSE: Scholarly Journals Full-text articles from journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

Proquest Research Library Multi-subject reference source covering general and academic periodicals.

Sociological Abstracts Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture Includes more than 2,700 signed essays ranging from 500 to 2,500 words, written by subject experts and edited to form a consistent, readable, and straightforward reference

Television News Archive An extensive archive of television news broadcasts. CNN broadcasts from 1995 are available free. ABC, NBC, CBS broadcasts from 1968 and FoxNews broadcasts from 2004 are available through video loan, for which Vanderbilt University charges a fee to recover costs.

Web of Science A combined citation index which includes the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

WorldCat A catalog showing the holdings of libraries throughout the world.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts A major political science index, dating from 1975, which provides citations and abstracts to journal articles, book chapters, books, and websites. Subject coverage includes international relations, law, and public administration and policy.
Untitled Document
 
Back to Top  
Return to Homepage  

© 2007 American University. All rights reserved.